FECOFA (Fédération Congolaise de Football Association) has confirmed the withdrawal of the Democratic Republic of Congo’s national team from the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations which takes place from 23 to 29 May 2021 in the commune of Saly, Senegal.

Their opponents Côte d’Ivoire, withdrew from the qualifiers to pave way for Dr Congo’s to gain a spot in the tournament

The tournament will now be played with seven teams, while group A will be composed of only three teams Uganda, Tanzania and Senegal

Group B stands as it is. It includes Egypt, Morocco, Mozambique and Seychelles.


The opening match of the competition will pit Egypt against Mozambique on 23 May. This will be followed by Morocco facing Seychelles. Finally on the opening day, hosts and defending champions Senegal will face debutants Uganda.

Both finalists will secure their tickets to the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, Russia 2021.